A branch of Webber International University
Did you know...
Academic programs offered range from Business, Sports Studies, Biology, and Forensics to Creative Writing, Psychology, Education or Philosophy as well as Pre-Professional Programs.

The Sam Ragan Fine Arts Awards

The Sam Ragan Award was created in 1981 to honor Samuel Talmadge Ragan, North Carolina’s first Secretary of Cultural Resources. It is presented annually to one or more persons for outstanding contributions to the Fine Arts of North Carolina over an extended period --including, but above and beyond -- the recipient’s own primary commitment.

Mr. Ragan received the North Carolina Award, the State’s highest honor, as well as the Morrison and Parker Awards and the DAR Medal of Honor. He received honorary doctoral degrees from St. Andrews Presbyterian College, Atlantic Christian (now Barton) College, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Methodist College.

For 20 years he edited the News & Observer in Raleigh. He was then owner and editor of The Pilot in Southern Pines until his death in 1996. He authored six award-winning volumes of poetry and a number of works of nonfiction.

2014 Rhiannon Giddens

2013 Mark Hewitt
2012 Philip Gerard
2011 Jon Holloway
2010 Mary Louise Bringle
  Arthur McDonald
  David Rigsbee
2009 Thomas Heffernan
  Lois Holt
  Martha Blue Hooks
  Sally Ann Morris

Charles Blackburn Jr.

  Barbara Geer
  Thomas Sayre
2007 Robert Gant
  Jaki Shelton Green
  Sondra Martin

Jan Hensley

  Lenard Moore
  Margaret Vardell Sandresky
2005 Charles S. Sullivan
2004 The Rt. Rev. John S. Spong
2003 Edward R. Gomez
2002 Fred Chappell
  Jack Pinkerton
  James L. Morgan, Jr.
2001 Daniel Infantino
  Dannye Romine Powell
  H.A. Sieber
2000 Scott Ainslie
  Daniel Nie
  Louis Rubin
1999 Georgann Eubanks
  Jaques Maloubier
  Loonis McGlohon
1998 Betty Adcock
  Irwin Kremen
  Tom Wicker
1997 Jerry Bledsoe
  David Brinkley
  Ellen Johnson-Hale
  Susan Rose
1996 Anthony Abbott
  Ruth Moose

Talmadge Moose

1995 Joseph Bathanti
  Nancy Bradberry
  Glen Rounds
1994 Marie Gilbert
  Kathryn B. Gurkin
  Thomas F. Henley
1993 Sally Buckner
  Mary Duke Biddle Trent Semans
  Marty Silverthorne
1992 Clyde Edgerton
  Marvin Saltzman
1991 Gerald Barraz
  Marsha Warren
1990 Kate Blackburn
  William Little
1989 Stephen Smith
  Shelby Stephenson
1988 Paul Jeffery
1987 Robert Mason
  A.P. Perkinson
1986 James L. Morgan
  Sallie Nixon
1985 Ella Fountain Pratt
  Charleen Swansea
1984 Mae Woods Bell
  Frank Borden Hanes
1983 Nicholas Bragg
  Roy Parker
1982 John Fries Blair
  Harriet Doar
1981 Sara Hodgkins

Back to Creative Writing Page

© 2014 St. Andrews University. All Rights Reserved.
Access Webmail
Access Moodle

St. Andrews University
A branch of Webber International University
1700 Dogwood Mile
Laurinburg, NC 28352
(910) 277-5555 • (800) 763-0198 • (fax) 910-277-5020
Student Complaints
Sexual harassment and related incidents