A branch of Webber International University
In their own words...
"My time here has instilled within me a special kind of character, one that only comes as a result of a community geared toward opening your mind... not just filling your mind with more information."
- Blair Garnett, Class of '10, from NC

Ethel N. Fortner Writer and Community Awards


The Ethel N. Fortner Writer and Community Awards were instituted in 1986 to honor a friend of writers and frequent contributor to the St. Andrews Review. Fortner earned a Master of Arts degree from Columbia University in New York. After a career in teaching at the Oregon School of the Blind, she and her husband moved to Estacada, Ore. She committed herself to writing and became editor of Human Voice Quarterly. A frequent contributor to the St. Andrews Review, she was the earliest benefactor of the St. Andrews Press. She believed that a full community embraced and encouraged the craft of writing.
2014 Elizabeth Hudson
2013 Linda A. Carlisle
2012 Lisbeth Evans.
2011 William Blackley
2009 Martin Brossman
  Nancy A. Henry
  John Lawson
2008 Jean Arthur Jones
  Tanya Olson
  Jody Page
  Carlos Reyes
2007 Ron Bayes
  Nancy Bradberry
  Dot Coble
  Todd Davis
  Robert Malloy

Theodore Enslin

  Howard McCord
  Lindsay Thompson
2005 Alan Hines
2004 Barbara Epler
  Terrence Grimes
  Mary Regan

Robert Busko

  Paul Dosal
  Marie Gilbert
2002 John Craig
  Kemp Gregory
  Glenna Luschei
  Heather Ross Miller
2001 David Bunn
  Rebecca Copeland
  Robert Creeley
  Hiroaki Sato
  Beth Copeland Vargo
2000 Frank Barrows
  Stevie Daniels
  John Robinson
1999 Eleanor Brawley
  Michael Mott
  Tom Patterson
1998 Charles Fort
  Judy Goldman
  Elizabeth Spencer
1997 Doris Betts
  Susan Ketchin
  John Foster West
1996 Betty Hodges
  W.D. White
  Emily Herring Wilson
1995 John M. Ehle, Jr.
  Evalyn Pierpoint Gill
  Frank Borden Hanes
1994 Margaret Boothe Baddour
  William C. Friday
  Mary Kratt
1993 Charleas Edward Eaton
  Gladys Owings Hughes

The Honorable Robert M. Scott


Ann Deagon

  Charles Joyner
  Yoko Mishima
1991 Geneva Overholser
1990 Rolfe Neill
  Roy Park
  Roy Parker, Jr.
1989 Mary Belle Campbell
  Grace L. Gibson
1988 Elizabeth Stevenson Ives
1987 Martha Gibson
1986 Charleen Whisnant Swansea

Back to Creative Writing Page

© 2014 St. Andrews University. All Rights Reserved.
Access Webmail
Access Moodle

St. Andrews University
A branch of Webber International University
1700 Dogwood Mile
Laurinburg, NC 28352
(910) 277-5555 • (800) 763-0198 • (fax) 910-277-5020
Student Complaints
Sexual harassment and related incidents